An Interesting Look at NASDAQ Yearly Growth Behavior

David Invests
3 min readOct 26, 2020

If you looked at NASDAQ’s entire history, more specifically, from 1972 to the present, you’ll get something like this:

If we broke it up into yearly growth, you’d get something like this:

NASDAQ yearly growth. 2020 is empty because 2020 is not over yet as of the date of this article.

Notice the spacings between the red band regions. It’s almost like watching weather patterns, where if we get too much dark blue for a long period of time, we’re going to get a period of dark red, but if we temper those dark blues with a spattering of light reds or light blues to cool things off a bit, maybe the engine won’t choke so hard the next time.

Notice the longest time between dark red regions in the past was about 10 years, ending in the 2000 dotcom bubble. But notice how that 10-year period differs from the period following the 2008 financial crisis. True, it’s been more than 10 years since that fateful year, but THIS non-red span is unprecedented in appearance as well. It’s a bit more muted and slightly more colorful. The radiator is doing a better job of keeping temperatures from getting too hot or too cold.

If you look at average yearly growth, 2020 does seem to be above average:

Btw, 1999 was the year it grew 86%! We all know what happened after that though… 2008 was when it dipped the lowest in a single year, with the year 2000 not being far behind at -39%.

It wouldn’t be unprecedented for the NASDAQ to continue to squeeze out a little more juice this year even though it’s already 23% YTD.

We’ve had consecutive years of above-average growth before. Sometimes it was followed by another decent year, sometimes it wasn’t.

“There’s a first time for everything” as they say, but then sometimes the “first time” never comes.

If you like my content please follow me on all my socials. And if you feel especially ambitious, support me by becoming a patron. It’d really mean a lot.

WARNING: By using or reading my content in any way, you acknowledge and agree to the following: I am not a registered investment advisor nor am I licensed or qualified to provide investment advice. My content is for informational purposes only and is not advice (financial, investment, or otherwise). You should never invest based solely on my content. You should assume my content is not trustworthy unless verified by your own independent research. None of my content is a guarantee that you will make a profit if you use my content. By reading or using my content in any way, you do so entirely at your own risk. I am not nor shall I be liable to you for any damages or losses you incur directly or indirectly as a result of or arising from the use of my content.

--

--